You are here

UMD Three-Minute Thesis Competition

The 3MT competition challenges students to communicate the significance of their research projects to a non-specialist audience in just THREE MINUTES! The University of Maryland Graduate School invites graduate students from all disciplines to compete in the annual Three-Minute Thesis Competition (3MT).  Graduate students from all disciplines are eligible to participate!   

View the History and Overview of the 3MT Competition for more information.

2022 Competition:  The first-round college-level competitions will take place in early March. The first round will be done in either virtual, in-person or hybrid from.  Winners from the first-round competitions will advance to the campus-level final-round competition which will be held in-person during Graduate Research Appreciation Day (GRAD) on April 6, 2022.

Getting ready for the 2022 Competition?  Join us for a workshop HERE!

Wednesday, 11/3/2021, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Friday, 12/10/2021, 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Friday, 1/28/2022, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm

2022 3MT Competition Guidelines

Register to Compete HERE

  • FAQ's
  • Graduate School Writing Center:  Schedule an appointment with a Writing Fellow or Oral Communications Fellow
  • One Button Studios:  Please feel free to use one of the 8 Studios on campus to help you prepare your 3MT Video. A One Button Studio is equipped with a high definition camera, high-directional condenser microphone, and studio lighting. 



College-Level 3MT Contacts

CMNS: Charles Delwiche   (
ENGR: Nick Slaughter / Min Wu ( /
ARHU: Ralph Bauer / Betsy Yuen ( /
BSOS:  Wayne McIntosh / Jean McGloin  ( /
ARCH:  Madlen Simon  (
EDUC: Kimberly Griffin / Moya Malcolm ( /
INFO: Eun Kyoung Choe / Emily Dacquisto  ( /
JOUR: Ron Yaros / Serap Rada   (
AGNR: Maile Neel   (
BMGT: Justina Blanco / Nkemdirim Onokala  (  
PLCY: Taryn Faulkner (
SPHL: Stephen Roth  (

Campus-Level 3MT Contact

Robyn Kotzker (

2021 3MT Award winners

Melanie Arenson, Clinical Psychology
Nour El Husseini, Animal and Avian Sciences
Margaret Hartman, Entomology
Patricia Razafindrambinina, Chemistry
Ana Sosa Morfin, Marine Estuarine Environmental Sciences
James Sutherland, Aerospace Engineering

2020 3MT Award Winners 

Sarah BenishAtmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
Ashley Chapin, Bioengineering
Lauren Jonas, Marine Estuarine Environmental Science
Byeol (Star) KimMechanical Engineering
Izetta Autumn Mobley, American Studies
Varun SuryanComputer Science
Xin TianElectrical and Computer Engineering

2020 3MT Finalists

Xuanying ChenCriminology and Criminal Justice
Daniel EscobarAerospace Engineering 
Yi Feng, Human Development and Quantitative Methodology
Jaehoon Jeong, Decisions, Operations, and Information Technology
Austin LewisReliability Engineering
Amy MorinAerospace Engineering
Binbin PengUrban and Regional Planning and Design
Lovepreet Singh, Plant Science and Landscape Architecture
Bryce SlingerSchool of Public Policy
Nancy VeraComparative Literature
Xu HanSchool of Public Policy 


Past 3MT Award Recipients 


Amanda Burkholder, Human Development and Qualitative Methodology

Kyla Cools, Anthropology

Fiona Jardine, Information Studies

Liang Liang, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Suzanne Marselis, Geographical Sciences

Stephanie Yee, Counseling Psychology

Yuhan (Douglas) Rao, Geographical Sciences

Kelsey Gray, Bioengineering

Pravrutha RamanBiological Sciences

Samuel Ramsey, Entomology

Min-A Cho, Physics

Sarah Hirsh, Environmental Science and Technology

Gabriele Betancourt-Martinez, Astronomy

Theresa Smith Chirles, Kinesiology

Pan He, Geographical Sciences

Carly Muletz Wolz, Biological Sciences

Thomas E. Winkler, Bioengineering

Sowmya Subramanian, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Amy Marquardt, Materials Science and Engineering

Zubin Adrianvala, Urban and Regional Planning

Pui Yu Ling, Geographical Sciences

Jason Sinclair, Animal and Avian Sciences