You are here

2019 CIRTL@UMD Summer Professional Development

Consider spending some of your summer time building your teaching and learning resume.  CIRTL-Net is offering a number of useful workshop and institutes.

CIRTL Summer Institute on Scientific Teaching 
June 17-21 online in Blackboard Collaborate
Get a thorough introduction to CIRTL's approach to STEM education in this online institute.

Developing a CV or Resume
Thursday 6/20, Tuesday 6/25, & Thursday 6/27: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT 
In this course, become familiar with the formats, purposes, and structures of various academic and professional CVs, through individual and group reviews of exemplary documents, and through drafting a long-form CV and a shorter document (NSF or NIH bio-sketch, or non-academic resume). Learn about opportunities to highlight the attainment of CIRTL learning outcomes and achievement levels in such documents.

How People Learn
Tuesdays, May 28-July 2: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT 
Study the seminal work on the process of learning, "How People Learn," as well as the follow-up book, "How People Learn II," through this six-week, online, synchronous series.

Invest in Your Career: Take a Summer MOOC on Teaching
An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching
Join the CIRTL@UMD MCLC Learning Community
8 weeks, starting June 24