You are here

Charles A. Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Award

The Charles A. Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Award recognizes original work that makes an unusually significant contribution to the discipline. Four Awards are given each year, one in each of these broad disciplinary areas:

Mathematics, Physical Sciences, and Engineering
Social Sciences
Humanities and Fine Arts
Biological and Life Sciences

Recipients of the Charles A. Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Award receive an honorarium of $1,000 and may be selected for nomination to the CGS/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award competition.

Eligibility: Eligible candidates must have defended their dissertation in the calendar year 2022.

Nomination Process and Deadline: Each college/school has been allocated a specific number of nominations based on the number of Ph.D.s that are awarded annually. Please see Appendix B in the guidelines to view the allocations.  Departments seeking to make a nomination must consult with their college about internal deadlines.  College nominators should submit nominations by noon, Wednesday, February 22, 2023.  

Charles A. Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Award Guidelines and Nomination Cover Sheet



Past Award Recipients

Awards For 2022 Dissertations (TBD)
Awards for 2021 Dissertations

Awards for 2020 Dissertations

Awards for 2019 Dissertations

Awards for 2018 Dissertations
Awards for 2017 Dissertations
Awards for 2016 Dissertations
Awards for 2015 Dissertations
Awards for 2014 Dissertations
Awards for 2013 Dissertations
Awards for 2012 Dissertations
Awards for 2011 Dissertations
Awards for 2010 Dissertations